Language selection

Search

The History of the Geological Survey of Canada in 175 Objects

175 objects tell the story of the Geological Survey of Canada and its contributions to the development of Canada since 1842

Introduction

The Geological Survey of Canada can lay claim to a unique role in the exploration and development of Canada.

In 1842, 25 years before Confederation, its founder and first director William E. Logan began by assessing the mineral wealth of the Province of Canada and discovered an impressive range of mineral deposits. As Canada grew, the Survey reported on all aspects of its natural resources.

Travelling by horse, foot, or canoe – often through uncharted wilderness – its early scientists mapped, described, and recorded Canada’s geology. Indeed, they were the government’s “official” explorers. Their reports were influential. For example, they played a key role in recommending the route for the railways that linked Canada together as it expanded westward.

The Survey scientists collected rocks, minerals, fossils, flora, fauna, as well as photographs and artifacts of indigenous peoples that they encountered in their wide-ranging travels. These formed the nucleus of a public museum started by Logan in Montreal in the1840s and which was moved to Ottawa in 1881. In 1911, the Victoria Memorial Museum was built in Ottawa to house the Survey and its collections. The specimens and artifacts collected by Survey scientists are still part of the treasures held by our national museums.

The early work of the Survey laid the foundation for the development of Canada’s mineral and energy resources. In the 20th and 21st centuries, its national geological and resource maps, publications, and scientific studies have provided a significant stimulus for our expansion and growth.

Throughout its history, the Survey has maintained the highest standards of research. Its scientists have advanced international geoscience in fields such as seafloor spreading, tectonic plate movements, and paleomagnetism. They are also world leaders in the development of airborne geophysics. Recent contributions include new understanding of subduction zone earthquakes, groundwater and mineral deposits, climate change science, space weather forecasting, and seafloor mapping to delineate offshore boundaries.

The 175 objects were selected from suggestions made by Survey staff and alumni. They provide a glimpse into the Survey’s 175-year-long history and its outstanding contribution to the development of Canada.

Examples of the 175 objects:

37. Albertosaurus (1884)
Albertosaurus

Few dinosaurs are as awe-inspiring as Tyrannosaurus rex, but one that comes close is Albertosaurus (meaning Alberta lizard). In 1884, Geological Survey of Canada geologist Joseph Tyrrell discovered an Albertosaurus skull in the badlands along the Red Deer River. This was the first time the world had seen Albertosaurus. It was a chance find as Tyrrell was exploring the river valley cliffs for coal. His milestone discovery marked the beginning of a grand age of dinosaur exploration and research in this now famous area. Read more

49. Yukon Gold Rush (1898)
Yukon Gold 
Rush 1

Rich placers of gold (flakes of gold in river sediments) were first discovered in the Yukon in 1896. By 1898, when the Geological Survey of Canada’s third Director, George Dawson, sent Richard McConnell and Joseph Tyrrell to examine the gold deposits, 10,000 mining claims were already registered and the Gold Rush was in full swing.

McConnell and Tyrrell described the gold-producing area as covering about 1000 square miles, with placer gold in four of the main creeks – Eldorado, Bonanza, Hunker, and Dominion. Tyrrell collected the gold sample shown here from one of these creeks. Read more

171. Canada’s Extended Continental Shelf (2013)
Canada's 
Extended Continental Shelf

Starting in 2006, the Survey carried out fieldwork to collect geophysical data and geological samples from the Arctic Ocean using heavy-duty icebreakers, autonomous underwater vehicles, and field camps on the ice. Surveys in the eastern Arctic, in the vicinity of the North Pole, were undertaken in 2014, 2015, and 2016. During each of these surveys, the icebreakers stopped at the North Pole to celebrate the remarkable feat of reaching the "Top of the World" and each time Survey researchers proudly raised the Canadian flag. Read more

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

L’histoire de la Commission géologique du Canada illustrée par 175 objets

175 objets qui racontent l’histoire de la Commission géologique du Canada et de ses contribution au développement du Canada depuis 1842

Introduction

La Commission géologique du Canada peut revendiquer son rôle unique dans l'exploration et le développement du Canada.

En 1842, 25 ans avant la Confédération, son fondateur et premier directeur, William E. Logan, a commencé par évaluer les richesses minérales de la Province du Canada. Il a découvert une impressionnante variété de gîtes minéraux. Au fur et à mesure que le pays grandissait, la Commission a documenté tous les aspects de ses ressources naturelles.

Se déplaçant à cheval, à pied ou en canot – souvent dans des régions inexplorées – les premiers scientifiques de la Commission ont cartographié, décrit et documenté la géologie du Canada. Ils étaient, en fait, les explorateurs « officiels » du gouvernement. Leurs rapports étaient influents. Ils ont, par exemple, joué un rôle de premier plan en recommandant le tracé des chemins de fer qui ont uni le Canada au fur et à mesure de son expansion vers l’ouest.

Au cours de leurs vastes expéditions, les scientifiques de la Commission ont recueilli des roches, des minéraux, des fossiles, des spécimens de flore et de faune, ainsi que des photographies et des artéfacts des populations autochtones qu’ils rencontraient. Ce matériel a formé le cœur d’un musée public créé par Logan à Montréal dans les années 1840, musée qui a été déplacé à Ottawa en 1881. En 1911, le Musée commémoratif Victoria a été construit à Ottawa pour accueillir la Commission et ses collections. Les spécimens et les artéfacts recueillis par les scientifiques de la Commission font encore partie des trésors détenus par nos musées nationaux.

Les premiers travaux de la Commission ont jeté les bases du développement des ressources minérales et énergétiques du Canada. Au cours des 20e et 21e siècles, ses cartes nationales sur la géologie et les ressources, ses publications et ses études scientifiques ont fortement stimulé l’expansion et la croissance du pays.

Tout au long de son histoire, la Commission a maintenu les plus hauts standards de recherche. Ses chercheurs ont réalisé des avancées géoscientifiques internationales dans des domaines tels que l’expansion des fonds marins, le mouvement des plaques tectoniques et le paléomagnétisme. Ils sont également des leaders mondiaux dans le développement de la géophysique aéroportée. Leurs récentes contributions comprennent une nouvelle compréhension des séismes liés aux zones de subduction, des eaux souterraines, des gîtes minéraux, du changement climatique, des prédictions de la météo spatiale et de la cartographie marine pour la délimitation des frontières extracôtières.

Les 175 objets ont été choisis à partir de suggestions soumises par les employés présents et passés de la Commission. Ils donnent un aperçu des 175 années d’histoire de cette institution et de ses contributions remarquables au développement du Canada.

Exemples des 175 objets :

37. Albertosaurus (1884)
Albertosaurus

Peu de dinosaures sont aussi impressionnants que Tyrannosaurus rex, mais celui qui s'en rapproche est Albertosaurus (qui signifie lézard de l'Alberta). En 1884, Joseph Tyrrell, géologue de la Commission géologique du Canada, a découvert un crâne d'Albertosaurus dans les badlands longeant la rivière Red Deer. C'était la première fois que le monde voyait Albertosaurus. Il s'agissait d'une découverte fortuite car Tyrrell explorait les falaises de la vallée de la rivière à la recherche de charbon. Sa découverte révolutionnaire a marqué le début d'une grandiose époque d'exploration et de recherche de dinosaures dans cette région maintenant célèbre. Lire la suite

49. Ruée vers l'or du Yukon (1898)
Ruée vers l'or du Yukon 1

De riches placers d'or (flocons d'or se trouvant dans les sédiments de rivières) ont d'abord été découverts au Yukon en 1896. En 1898, lorsque George Dawson, troisième directeur de la Commission géologique du Canada, a envoyé Richard McConnell et Joseph Tyrrell examiner les dépôts d'or, 10 000 concessions minières étaient déjà enregistrées et la Ruée vers l'or battait son plein.

McConnell et Tyrrell ont indiqué que la région aurifère couvrait 1 000 milles carrés et que des placers d'or se trouvaient dans quatre des principaux ruisseaux – Eldorado, Bonanza, Hunker et Dominion. Tyrrell a recueilli l’échantillon d'or montré ici d’un de ces ruisseaux. Lire la suite

171. Plateau continental étendu du Canada (2013)
Plateau continental étendu du Canada

Depuis 2006, la Commission géologique du Canada réalise des travaux de terrain afin de recueillir des données géophysiques et des échantillons géologiques de l'océan Arctique en utilisant de puissants brise-glaces, des véhicules sous-marins autonomes et des camps de terrain sur la glace. Des levés dans l'est de l'Arctique, à proximité du pôle Nord, ont été réalisés en 2014, 2015 et 2016. Durant chacun de ces levés, les brise-glaces ont fait escale au pôle Nord pour célébrer l'exploit remarquable d'atteindre « le sommet du monde », et chaque fois les chercheurs de la Commission ont hissé fièrement le drapeau du Canada. Lire la suite

Date de modification :