Language selection

Search

CanCOVID Network

Canada’s Chief Science Advisor has collaborated with the Government of Canada’s departmental science advisors, the U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities, Compute Ontario and the University of Toronto to launch CanCOVID, a new Canada-wide network of health, science and policy researchers to facilitate COVID-19 research collaboration.

For more information on the CanCOVID initiative:

Visit: cancovid.ca

Email: info@cancovid.ca

Follow on Twitter: @CanCOVID

The primary federal authoritative source of information for all Canadians on COVID-19 is Canada.ca/coronavirus, as well as the COVID-19 Information Line at 1-833-784-4397. Canadians should refer to these resources for regularly updated information and guidance.

Background

Experts from Canada's scientific, policy, and health communities have mobilized to launch CanCOVID, a rapid-response network for facilitating the nation's COVID-19 research effort. CanCOVID was proposed by Canada's Chief Science Advisor, Dr. Mona Nemer, to expedite communication and collaboration between the scientific, healthcare and policy communities during the COVID-19 crisis. "From virus detection to disease management, science has helped us fight COVID-19 every step of the way, and science will help us prevail," said Dr. Nemer. CanCOVID has room to self-organize so that it can respond to rapidly evolving regional and local research needs. "The scale of the COVID-19 challenge demands agile, transdisciplinary leadership," said Health Canada Science Advisor Dr. Cara Tannenbaum, who helps to lead the CanCOVID implementation effort.

Using CanCOVID, members can collaborate across critical research and development areas, from clinical trials and testing, to diagnostics and treatment. They can also easily connect with others in their regional or local networks, and with clinicians on the frontlines. Ultimately, CanCOVID's mission is to enable the agile, evidence-based decision-making needed to help steer Canada safely through the COVID-19 pandemic. "CanCOVID has the potential to avoid research waste by preventing duplication of effort and ensuring that decision makers can get the best available information when they need it," said Dr. Sharon Straus, Director of the Knowledge Translation Program at St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto, and also a member of the CanCOVID network. "These are critical issues in this evolving pandemic."

CanCOVID will make it easier for researchers who are working on different angles of the same problem to find each other, share what they know, vet research results, and anticipate challenges. "I'm looking forward to connecting with government agencies and also with colleagues from across Canada," said University Health Network Scientist Beate Sander, who joined the network during its preliminary launch on April 1, 2020. "I am especially excited about CanCOVID bringing together scientists from basic science to the social sciences, with the potential to address key policy questions in interdisciplinary teams."

One example of how CanCOVID is facilitating interdisciplinary approaches is in the Indigenous-themed channel, moderated by Carrie Bourassa, Scientific Director of the Institute of Indigenous Peoples' Health at the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. Already, researchers linked to Indigenous communities in the North, specifically Yellowknife, Behchoko and Fort Smith, are discussing their drive-through COVID-19 testing initiatives, and Morning Star Lodge has been sharing resources relevant to Indigenous communities, including culturally safe fact sheets, videos, and a resource packet entitled 19 Ways for a Healthy Home Fire. As of this morning, ovemer 1000 researchers have joined the CanCOVID network, from Nova Scotia and Ontario, to B.C. and the Northwest Territories.

"As Canada's research community mobilizes in response to COVID-19, CanCOVID will play an important role in bringing our nation's best minds to bear on this challenge," said Dr. Gilles Patry, Executive Director of the U15 Group of Canadian Universities. U15 is one of the many organizations working behind the scenes to facilitate the CanCOVID response, alongside Canada's Departmental Science Advisor Network, stakeholders from the federal and provincial governments, funding agencies, industry, academia from across Canada, non-profit, indigenous communities, hospitals, and clinics.

Rapid redeployment

While those who are working on the COVID-19 front lines have found themselves working around the clock to steer financial resources, equipment and supplies, information, and expertise to the people who need it most, the unexpected COVID-19 shutdown has left many scientists from other sectors locked out of their labs.

Given the imperative to get the CanCOVID platform functional as quickly as possible, researchers from other sectors are lending their leadership and skills to the CanCOVID response. Among them are Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Science Advisor Dr. Sarah Gallagher, Compute Ontario Board Chair Dr. Mark Daley, and University of Toronto Vice-President of International Partnerships and Scientific Director of the AGE-WELL NCE Dr. Alex Mihailidis, all of whom are leading the CanCOVID implementation effort.

"We need to have people outside healthcare working on this effort. Healthcare professionals and health researchers are at the centre of COVID-19 activity and can't answer all the calls," said Dr. Gallagher. "This has been a team effort, with a core group of people working very hard to make things happen quickly. We went from a recognized need to launching the platform in under two weeks. We came together because something needed to be done, and we got the support from our universities and federal agencies to focus on this effort."

To Join the CanCOVID Network

The CanCOVID network is by invitation, and is restricted to verified members of the COVID-19 expert research and response community. This includes, for example, researchers with recognized expertise in:

  • Diagnostics
  • Vaccines and Therapeutics
  • Modelling
  • Fundamental Science
  • Clinical trials
  • Cohort studies
  • Social and behavioural sciences
  • Healthcare
  • Policy decision-making
  • Indigenous knowledge
  • Medical devices
  • Patient perspectives
  • Community health

To be considered a recognized expert, you must have professional affiliation with a university, hospital, clinic, government office, non-profit association or business.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Le Réseau CanCOVID

La conseillère scientifique en chef du Canada a travaillé avec les conseillers scientifiques ministériels, le groupe U15 des universités canadiennes de recherche, Compute Ontario et l’Université de Toronto pour lancer CanCOVID, un nouveau réseau pancanadien de chercheurs et chercheuses en santé, en sciences et en politiques publiques, pour faciliter les collaborations de recherche sur la COVID-19.

Pour plus de renseignements sur l'initiative CanCOVID:

Visitez : cancovid.ca

Courriel : info@cancovid.ca

Twitter : @CanCOVID

La principale source d'information faisant autorité pour tous les Canadiens concernant la COVID-19 est le site Canada.ca/coronavirus, ainsi que la ligne d'information 1‑833‑784‑4397. Les Canadiens devraient consulter ces ressources pour obtenir de l'information à jour et des conseils.

À propos de CanCOVID

Des experts de la communauté scientifique, politique et de la santé du Canada se sont mobilisés pour lancer CanCOVID, un réseau d'intervention rapide pour coordonner l'effort national contre la COVID-19. CanCOVID a été proposé par la conseillère scientifique en chef du Canada, la Dre Mona Nemer, pour faciliter la communication et la collaboration entre les communautés scientifiques, politiques et de la santé pendant la crise de la COVID-19. "La science nous a aidés à combattre la COVID-19 à chaque étape, de la détection du virus à la gestion de la maladie, et la science nous aidera à l'emporter", a déclaré la Dre Nemer. Le réseau CanCOVID peut s'auto-organiser afin de répondre aux besoins de recherche régionaux et locaux qui évoluent rapidement. "L'ampleur du défi en lien avec la COVID-19 exige un leadership agile et transdisciplinaire", a déclaré la conseillère scientifique de Santé Canada, la Dre Cara Tannenbaum, qui aide à diriger l'effort de mise en oeuvre de CanCOVID.

Grâce à CanCOVID, les membres peuvent collaborer dans des domaines de recherche et de développement essentiels, des essais cliniques aux tests, en passant par le diagnostic et le traitement. Ils peuvent également se connecter facilement avec d'autres personnes dans leurs réseaux régionaux ou locaux, et avec des cliniciens en première ligne. Ultimement, la mission de CanCOVID est de permettre une prise de décision agile et fondée sur des données probantes, nécessaire pour aider le Canada à traverser la pandémie COVID-19 en toute sécurité. "CanCOVID a le potentiel d'éviter le gaspillage de la recherche en évitant la duplication des efforts et en assurant que les décideurs puissent obtenir les meilleures informations disponibles quand ils en ont besoin", a déclaré la Dre Sharon Straus, directrice du programme d'application des connaissances à l'hôpital St. Michael de Toronto, et membre du réseau CanCOVID. "Ce sont des questions cruciales dans cette pandémie en évolution".

CanCOVID permettra aux chercheurs qui travaillent sur différents aspects d'un même problème de se retrouver plus facilement, de partager leurs connaissances, d'examiner les résultats de leurs recherches et d'anticiper les défis. "Je suis impatiente d'entrer en contact avec les agences gouvernementales et aussi avec des collègues de partout au Canada", a déclaré Beate Sander, scientifique du University Health Network de Toronto, qui a rejoint le réseau lors de son lancement préliminaire le 1er avril 2020. "Je suis particulièrement enthousiaste à l'idée que CanCOVID réunisse des scientifiques des sciences fondamentales aux sciences sociales, avec la possibilité d'aborder des questions clés de politiques publiques au sein d'équipes interdisciplinaires".

Un exemple de la façon dont CanCOVID facilite les approches interdisciplinaires est le canal sur le thème des Autochtones animé par Carrie Bourassa, directrice scientifique de l'Institut de la santé des Autochtones des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada. Déjà, des chercheurs en lien avec des communautés autochtones dans le Nord, en particulier de Yellowknife, Behchoko et Fort Smith discutent de leurs initiatives de test de dépistage « au volant » et le Morning Star Lodge a partagé des ressources pertinentes pour les communautés autochtones, notamment des vidéos et des fiches d'information culturellement sûres et un kit de ressources intitulé 19 Ways for a Healthy Home Fire (en anglais seulement). Depuis ce matin, plus de 1000 chercheurs ont rejoint la plateforme, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et l'Ontario, à la Colombie-Britannique et aux Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest.

"Alors que la communauté des chercheurs canadiens se mobilise en réponse à la COVID-19, CanCOVID jouera un rôle important en amenant les cerveaux les plus brillants de notre nation à relever ce défi," a déclaré le Dr Gilles Patry, directeur exécutif du Regroupement U15 des universités du Canada. L’U15 est l'une des nombreuses organisations qui travaillent en coulisse pour faciliter la réponse de CanCOVID, aux côtés du réseau des conseillers scientifiques ministériels du Canada, des intervenants des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, des agences de financement, de l'industrie, des universités de tout le Canada, des organisations à but non lucratif, des communautés autochtones, des hôpitaux et des cliniques.

Un redéploiement rapide

Alors que ceux qui travaillent en première ligne sur le front de la COVID-19 se sont retrouvés à travailler 24 heures sur 24 pour diriger les ressources financières, les équipements et les fournitures, les informations et l'expertise vers les personnes qui en ont le plus besoin, de nombreux scientifiques d'autres secteurs se sont retrouvés hors de leurs laboratoires à cause de la fermeture inattendue de ceux-ci liée à la COVID-19.

Étant donné l'impératif de rendre la plateforme CanCOVID fonctionnelle le plus rapidement possible, des chercheurs d'autres secteurs apportent leur leadership et leurs compétences à la réponse CanCOVID. Parmi eux, la Dre Sarah Gallagher, conseillère scientifique de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC), le Dr Mark Daley, président du conseil d’administration de Compute Ontario, et le Dr Alex Mihailidis, vice-président associé des partenariats internationaux de l’Université de Toronto et Directeur scientifique du réseau AGE-WELL, dirigent tous l'effort de mise en œuvre de CanCOVID.

"Nous avons besoin de personnes extérieures au secteur de la santé pour travailler sur cet effort. Les professionnels de la santé et les chercheurs en santé sont au centre de l'activité contre la COVID-19 et ne peuvent pas répondre à tous les appels", a déclaré la Dre Gallagher. "Il s'agit d'un travail d'équipe, avec un noyau central de personnes qui travaillent très fort pour faire avancer les choses rapidement. Nous avons lancé la plateforme en moins de deux semaines seulement après en avoir identifié le besoin. Nous nous sommes réunis parce qu'il fallait faire quelque chose, et nous avons obtenu le soutien de nos universités et des agences fédérales pour nous concentrer sur cet effort".

Pour rejoindre le réseau CanCOVID

L’accès au réseau CanCOVID est sur invitation seulement et se limite aux membres de la communauté d’experts en matière de recherche et d’intervention sur la COVID-19. Cela comprend, par exemple, les chercheurs ayant une expertise reconnue dans les domaines suivants :

  • Diagnostique
  • Vaccins et thérapies
  • Modélisation
  • Science fondamentale
  • Essais cliniques
  • Études de cohortes
  • Sciences sociales et comportementales
  • Soins de santé
  • Politique et prise de décision gouvernementale
  • Savoir autochtone
  • Dispositifs médicaux
  • Perspectives des patients
  • Santé communautaire

Pour être considéré comme un expert reconnu, vous devez avoir une affiliation professionnelle avec une université, un hôpital, une clinique, un bureau gouvernemental, un organisme à but non lucratif ou une entreprise.

Date de modification :